ESSU commemorates Christmas

By: Jerome Talon

              Faculty members and staff from different colleges together with the administration personnel of Eastern Samar State University – Main Campus celebrated Christmas through a general assembly and send-off party held at ESSU Multi-purpose hall last December 20, 2016.
University President Dr. Edmundo Campoto formally opened the celebration through a welcome address.
Highlights of the event were the raffle draw and send-off celebration of Mrs. Florita C. Cabato, former university librarian; Dr. Nenita N. Agda, professor from the College of Education; and Mrs. Lea A. Diu, instructress from the College of Business Management and Accountancy who have been in service for thirty-six [36], thirty-five [35] and thirty-two [32] years respectively. Co-workers of the retirees bade goodbye through tributes in a form of song, ‘siday’, and recorded video messages as farewell presentation.
The program was almost on its mid part when a special guest, Congressman Ben P. Evardone came. After his speech, together with Dr. Emilia Baquilod were requested to have a ‘kuracha’ number as university custom. The latter showered the dance floor with 20-peso bills giving great joy to the staff and faculty members.
‘Part II: Parlor games for the participants’
Spearheaded by Dr. Jonas V. Palada, dean of the Office of the Student and Alumni Affairs (OSAA), in cooperation with the Supreme Student Council – Tertiary Student Government (SSC-TSG), parlor games continued the party. Alvin Daniego, a university staff, brought home a sack of rice after winning the first game entitled ‘Pop the balloon’. Five (5) faculties from College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), College of Computer Studies (CCS) and College of Engineering (COE) also seized a sack of rice in the game ‘Needle and Thread’, ‘Blow the Ball’ and ‘Fill the Empty Bottle’ correspondingly.
Samsung Flat LED screen TV and Refrigerator, two grand prizes of the raffle draw, were have won by the staff from the College of Engineering named RosanoAnacta and the president’s driver named Fernando Conahan.
The celebration ended through awarding of certificates and gifts to the head of every department in the University for funding the ‘Pamaskong Handog para sa mga Munting Anghel’, a share-a-gift program sponsored by ESSU through OSAA and Student Publication and Broadcasting services (SPBS) in collaboration with the SSG-TSG.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *